A birthday weekend in a Kocoon.

Front view of our kocoon

For my 30th birthday I wanted to do something different and exciting. After a lot of research my husband and I decided to spend my birthday weekend in a ‘kocoon’ at Harvieston Huts. These are small cosy huts in the Kirkhill mansion estate, about ten miles away from Edinburgh.

The Kirkhill mansion is a unique place in the middle of nowhere. There are about 20 cute huts in the complex. Each of the kocoons are made of wood with a small window for ventilation. Inside it was very cosy and warm. There was a sitting area outside each kocoon where you could relax and have a bbq.

Cute kocoons in the complex

  

We reached the camping site on Friday night and had a nice relaxing sleep in our kocoon. The next morning, which was my birthday morning, we went for a walk nearby. There were some really nice trails around the area with a couple of waterfalls. We were lucky with the weather and the walk was amazing and beautiful. In the afternoon we went to Edinburgh which was just a short drive away. We had a gala time there and I will share my experiences in Edinburgh in another blog.

Bbq area outside the kocoon

Late in the evening we returned to our kocoon and had a late night bbq. We spent the rest of the evening relaxing and enjoying the breeze. The kocoons were a spectacular hidden gem and I really enjoyed my stay. It was an overall good weekend and I thought to myself that turning 30 wasn’t bad at all!!

Leave a Reply

